English Trending Now

Two cabinet members and several White House officials resign following violence at US Capitol

Washington: Several White House officials have handed in their resignations after a pro-Trump mob stormed the US Capitol in Washington, DC, on Wednesday.

On Thursday, Education Secretary Betsy DeVos and Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao announced their resignations, becoming the first two members of President Trump’s Cabinet to leave since the attack.

Trump’s former chief of staff Mick Mulvaney and top European and Russian official on the National Security Council Ryan Tully were also among those who resigned on Thursday. Others, including First lady Melania Trump’s chief of staff Stephanie Grisham, quit on Wednesday.

Transportation Secretary Elaine Chao said the violent attack on the Capitol “has deeply troubled me in a way that I simply cannot set aside.” Chao, who is married to Senate GOP leader Mitch McConnell, says her resignation is effective Monday.

According to Media reports, “Stephanie Grisham, the chief of staff to first lady Melania Trump and former White House press secretary, was the first announced her resignation. Deputy press secretary Sarah Matthews resigned a short time later, as did White House social secretary Rickie Niceta, a White House official confirmed.”

ये भी पढ़ें:  Violence in 4th Phase: Mamata demands HM Amit Shah's resignation

List of resignations since yesterday:

-Stephanie Grisham
-Sarah Matthews
-Mick Mulvaney
-Anna Cristina Niceta Lloyd
-John Costello
-Matt Pottinger
-Ryan Tully

अपनी राय कमेंट बॉक्स में दें
सत्य को ज़िंदा रखने की इस मुहिम में आपका सहयोग बेहद ज़रूरी है। आपसे मिली सहयोग राशि हमारे लिए संजीवनी का कार्य करेगी और हमे इस मार्ग पर निरंतर चलने के लिए प्रेरित करेगी। याद रखिये ! सत्य विचलित हो सकता है पराजित नहीं।
ताज़ा हिंदी समाचार और उनसे जुड़े अपडेट हासिल करने के लिए फ्री मोबाइल एप डाउनलोड करें अथवा हमें फेसबुक, ट्विटर या गूगल पर फॉलो करें